Top 5 Tuesday

Thanks to Shanah at Bionic Book Worm for hosting Top 5 Tuesday! This week’s topic is “Top 5 Books I need to read in 2020”. I am sticking to books I already own for this one, since I recently counted how many unread books I have and the number is truly Too Many, and I need to get reading them!

1. The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

High Fantasy, dragons, lesbians, what more could I need! This was one of my most anticipated books last year and I was able to get over halfway through before my slightest whims led me astray and directly to an abundance of hold requests at the library. I put it down to get through them and then haven’t picked it back up, but I want to finish it because I was really enjoying it. It’s been like 3 months already since I last read it though, so I will probably have to start over.

2. Moon Rising (Luna #3) by Ian McDonald

This one was on my last Top 5 Tuesday post: Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get to in 2019. I am notoriously bad at reading e-books, but I have a kindle now and things are looking up in that department. I also had to start this one over again since it had been so long since I put it down.

3. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

I bought this from Thrift Books directly after reading Six of Crows in 2018, because I wanted a heist book for adults. It’s been a year and a half since then and I see it on my shelf constantly but am mildly afraid to pick it up because of the size (even though it is less pages then Priory). But this year I’m gonna do it! I’m gonna read about these thieves and I’m gonna like it (probably)!

4. Welcome to the Goddamn Ice Cube: Chasing Fear and Finding Home in the Great White North by Blair Braverman

Last year, I started following Blair Braverman on Twitter. She’s a Dogsledder who completed the Iditarod for the first time last year, and tweeted the entire experience. She frequently posts threads about all of her dogs, and she has become my absolute favorite Twitter follow. This is her memoir detailing her journey to becoming a Dogsledder, and I was planning to read it this month but haven’t found the time to do so. But I absolutely will get to it soon!

5. The Monster Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson

The first book in this series, The Traitor Baru Cormorant, hit me super hard when I read it back in 2018. The series is about Baru Cormorant, a lesbian accountant who seeks to gain political power in order to avenge the death of her parents at the hands of imperialists. I love a good gay revenge story, and Baru’s story is incredibly moving to me, and I think I have been putting off the sequel because I’m a little afraid of how it’s going to hurt me this time! But the third book is coming out in June, so now is a good time to catch up, and maybe reread the first one if I can handle it.

I am determined to get to these books this year! Please wish me luck as I am a mood reader without even a modicum of self control. Maybe 2020 is the year I will develop willpower!

Leave a comment